PML-N’s Masood Khan wins presidential elections in Azad Kashmir

MUZAFFARABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)’s candidate Masood Khan has been elected as the new President of Azad Jammu and Kashmir. According to details, Khan, who is a former diplomat, got 42 votes while Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)’s Chaudhry Latif Akbar received six votes. The polling started at the Lodging Hall of the AJK legislative assembly today and ended at 3 PM. PPP and PML-N had both fielded their candidates for the post of presidency. PPP had nominated Chaudhry Latif Akbar while the PML-N nominated former delegate Masood Khan for the presidential elections. Seven members of the Kashmir Council and 48 members of the Azad Kashmir legislative assembly voted for the new President. However, Muslim Conference and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) had boycotted the elections. Last month, PML-N won a landslide victory in the general elections in the province. PML-N candidate Raja Farooq Haider Khan was elected as the prime minister. PML N won 31 (out of 41) seats in Kashmir Elections 2016  

The post PML-N’s Masood Khan wins presidential elections in Azad Kashmir appeared first on News Pakistan.

Source: News Pakistan

Leave a Reply